Advising Center

students smile

Our Mission

The Advising and Exploration Center at the Avery Point campus services undergraduate students studying in a variety of degree programs. The integration of the social, academic, and career development of the student is the central focus and drive behind the center. We pledge to help students in the following ways:

  • Help students find their path through the educational process and beyond
  • Guide students through a process to help them identify and assess their skills, values, and interests
  • Empower students to be serious about their studies and responsible for their decisions and actions
  • Educate students on the rules and regulations of the university
  • Provide personalized academic advising to each student
  • Develop partnerships with students in the advisor/advisee role
  • Facilitate successful transition to the Storrs campus

Who is my Advisor?

Before course registration for the upcoming semester begins, it is imperative that you meet with your academic advisor to go over the course selection process for the upcoming semester. Therefore, it is important to know who your advisor is in order to make an appointment with him/her. This information is located within the Student Administration System (PeopleSoft) website.

If you have a Faculty Advisor

You are responsible for setting up an appointment regarding registration with your faculty advisor. You will not find most Avery Point campus faculty advisors on ADVAPP. You need to contact them directly by phone or e-mail to set up your appointment. Contact information can be found at phonebook.uconn.edu.

Role of the Advisor

  • Understand the University of Connecticut’s policies and regulations as highlighted in the course catalog
  • Provide information and help students define academic goals
  • Be accessible and respond promptly to students’ inquiries
  • Provide appropriate referrals to academic and other campus resources
  • Demonstrate interest in students’ efforts to achieve academic and career goals
  • Provide a respectful environment that fosters the advising partnerships

Role of the Advisee

  • Seek information, be prepared, and ask questions
  • Meet with advisor on a regular basis
  • Pursue academic and co-curricular opportunities related to academic goals
  • Complete the advising and registration process each semester
  • Communicate with advisor about important changes (academic or personal) that may affect goals and/or performance

Faculty Advisors

ACD = Academic Building
MSB = Marine Sciences Building
CBP = Community and Professional Building

Advisor Building & Room Phone Email Address Discipline
General Advising: Noemi Maldonado Picardi BH 314 phone 860-405-9219, fax 860-405-9290 noemi.maldonado@uconn.edu Assigned students in all majors (including ACES), expect as covered by others on this list. Back-up advising for all students
Baggio, Michele ACD 101B 860-405-9035 michele.baggio@uconn.edu Economics and ACES
Batchvarov, Kroum ACD 116C 860-405-9295 kroum.batchvarov@uconn.edu Anthropology, Maritime Archaeology, Maritime Studies; ACES and Psychology
Bedore, Pam ACD 114D 860-405-9135 pamela.bedore@uconn.edu English; ACES with an interest in English
Bercaw-Edwards, Mary K ACD 114C 860-405-9032 mary.bercaw_edwards@uconn.edu English, Maritime Studies; ACES with an interest in English or Maritime Studies
Bidwell, Roger Gym 860-405-9184 r.bidwell@uconn.edu ACES (pre-Kinesiology)
Bohlen, Frank MSB 187 860-405-9176 bohlen@uconn.edu Marine Sciences
Cole, Richard ACD 114E 860-405-9242 richard.cole@uconn.edu Political Science, Psychology; ACES with an interest in Political Science, Psychology
Collins, Aaron CPB 204 860-405-9013 aaron.collins@uconn.edu Students enrolled in the Student Support Services program
Connors, Jeffrey ACD 114C 860-405-9188 jeffrey.connors@uconn.edu Math, Business; ACES with an interest in Math or Business
Dam, Hans MSB 284 860-405-9098 hans.dam@uconn.edu Marine Sciences
Dierssen, Heidi MSB 285 860-405-9239 heidi.dierssen@uconn.edu Marine Sciences
Edson, Jim MSB 193 860-405-9165 james.edson@uconn.edu Marine Sciences, Environmental Sciences
Gai, Moshe BH 311 860-405-9068 moshe.gai@uconn.edu Physics; ACES with an interest in Physics
Giblin, David CPB 203C 860-405-9275 david.giblin@uconn.edu Engineering and ACES with an interest in Engineering
Granger, Julie MSB 860-405-9094 julie.granger@uconn.edu Environmental Sciences and Marine Sciences
Hallwood, Paul ACD 116A 860-405-9078 paul.hallwood@uconn.edu Economics; Business; ACES with an interest in Economics or Business
Jones, Stephen ACD 101A 860-405-9187 stephen.jones@uconn.edu English, Journalism; ACES with an interest in English or Journalism
Kading, Liz ACD 103C 860-405-9292 bgsavpt@uconn.edu Bachelor of General Studies and non-degree
Keul, Adam ACD 116C 860-405-9059 adam.keul@uconn.edu Geography; Psychology and ACES with an interest in Geography
Leykekhman, Dmitriy ACD 114A 860-405-9294 dmitriy.leykekhman@uconn.edu Math, Business, Actuarial Science, and Statistics; Engineering; ACES with an interest in Math or Engineering
Lin, Senjie MSB 381 860-405-9168 senjie.lin@uconn.edu Marine Sciences
Mason, Robert MSB 388 860-405-9129 robert.mason@uconn.edu Marine Sciences, Chemistry, other science; ACES undecided science
McKenzie, Matthew ACD 114C 860-405-9270 matthew.g.mckenzie@uconn.edu History, American Studies; ACES with an interest in History or American Studies
McManus, George MSB 288 860-405-9164 george.mcmanus@uconn.edu Marine Sciences, Biology, other science; ACES with an interest in Marine Sciences or Biology
Miller, Robin CPB 101 860-405-9061 robin.miller@uconn.edu Nursing and the CEIN (Certificate in Education in Nursing) program
Rozwadowski, Helen ACD 101D 860-405-9120 helen.rozwadowski@uconn.edu Maritime Studies and History
Skoog, Annelie MSB 385 860-405-9220 annelie.skoog@uconn.edu Marine Sciences
Steenburg, Nancy BH 314A 860-405-9191 nancy.steenburg@uconn.edu Assigned students in all majors (including ACES), expect as covered by others on this list. Bachelor of General Studies, Bachelor of Professional Studies, and non-degree advising as well as back-up advising for all students.
Trumbull, Nathaniel ACD 101B 860-405-9272 nathaniel.trumbull@uconn.edu Geography, Maritime Studies; ACES, Psychology, and Human Development and Family Studies.
Vlahos, Penny MSB 192 860-405-9269 penny.vlahos@uconn.edu Chemistry and Marine Sciences
Ward, Evan MSB 393 860-405-9073 evan.ward@uconn.edu Marine Sciences, Biology; ACES with an interest in Biology
Whitney, Mike MSB 185 860-405-9157 michael.whitney@uconn.edu Marine Sciences and ACES with an interest in Marine Sciences
Wood, Marty CPB 203D 860-405-9296 marcelle.wood@uconn.edu Engineering and ACES with an interest in Engineering

*University of Connecticut Disclaimers, Policy and Copyright statements. For questions regarding this web page or web site, contact mary.heckman@uconn.edu. Date last modified: Feb. 20, 2014

Course Selection

Every semester, each student will meet for an advising appointment with his/her individual academic advisor to review course selection for the upcoming school semester. Students are expected to come prepared to their advising appointments. To make an appointment, contact us.

Students please schedule appointments at http://advapp.uconn.edu/.

The Student Administration System (SAS) is the system used for all aspects of the course selection and registration process. You can access the SAS by going to studentadmin.uconn.edu.

students attending lecture

How to Prepare for Your Advising Appointment

It is important to know your major requirements and come to your advising appointment with your General Education Sheet up to date and a copy of your Student Admin Academic Requirement Report.

All Students pursuing majors NOT in the College of Arts and Sciences and NOT in the School of Business follow the University General Education Requirements. ACES Exploratory students also follow the University General Education Requirements. All Students pursuing a major in the College of Arts and Sciences (CLAS) follow the CLAS General Education Requirements.

KNOW YOUR MAJOR REQUIREMENTS AND WHAT SCHOOL OR COLLEGE YOUR MAJOR IS IN; KNOW YOUR GENERAL EDUCATION REQUIREMENTS:

Academic Requirement Report

Things You Should Know

Everything you ever wanted to know about ALL majors
Resources

Enrollment Appointment
Each student is given an individual time frame in which they can begin signing up for classes. Find out how you can locate your enrollment appointment.

Account Holds
If you have a hold on your SAS account, you will want to have it taken care of before it can affect the registration process. Find out how you can locate holds on your account.

Register for Classes
Go to Registration Help

Snapshot of course offerings at all UConn campuses
Interactive Course search

Transfer Course Equivalencies from other Connecticut Institutions
UConn Course Transfers Equivalencies Page

View Your Advisement Report
Track your progress in fulfilling your general education and your current major requirements. Help can be found at Track your Progress.

View a “What-If” Advisement Report
Review your progress in fulfilling general education and major requirements FOR OTHER MAJORS you may be interested in pursuing. Help can be found at Advisement Report.

Campus Change

Are you ready to campus change? In order to assist you in the transition process to the Storrs campus, the University of Connecticut has developed a Campus Change website to provide you with the necessary resources to make your transition a successful one.

Attend a campus change meeting. In order for a student to officially change his/her campus from a regional campus to Storrs, he/she must first attend a Campus Change meeting to fill out the appropriate paperwork.  Campus Change Form

Frequently Asked Questions

Forms

Add/Drop Courses

If you are looking to add or drop a course after the first two weeks of classes, please fill out the Schedule Revision form. The card must be signed by your advisor before submitting to the Avery Point Campus Registrar.

Registration Services

Registration Services is responsible for course record management, classroom assignment, final exam scheduling, academic record creation and maintenance, student registration, and grade processing.

Jeanne Martin, director of registration services, BH room 315, 860-405-9017, jeanne.martin@uconn.edu
Maryann Pepin, registration services specialist, BH room 313, 860-405-9019, maryann.pepin@uconn.edu
Remember, classes cannot be dropped without extenuating circumstances past the ninth week of the semester!

Change School, College or Major
If you are looking to change your School or College and/or major you will need to fill out the Program Change Form and return it to your advisor.

Excess Credits
If you are looking to sign up for excess credits, please fill out and submit the Excess Credit Authorization form.

Freshmen English Waiver
If you have taken multiple English literature courses at another University and believe that you are eligible for a freshmen English waiver, follow the instructions for Freshmen English Waiver Information. Freshmen English Waiver forms at Avery Point should be submitted to Dr. Pamela Bedore, the Avery Point Writing Coordinator.

Readmission Application
Dean of Students Office

Repeat Course for a Third Time
If you need to repeat a course for a third time, please return the completed copy of the Permission Form to your advisor to start the process of acquiring appropriate signatures.

Majors

You can finish following the majors here at the Avery Point Campus

  • American Studies
  • English
  • General Studies
  • Marine Sciences
  • Maritime Studies

Contact

Noemi Maldonado Picardi, MSW
Academic Advisor
Avery Point Campus, Branford House Room 314
Email: noemi.maldonado@uconn.edu
Phone: 860-405-9219

Students please schedule appointments at http://advapp.uconn.edu/